Echoes of Evil

Echoes of Evil by Ken R. Abell is the third installment in his Deacon Coburn series, and it is filled with the same crackling prose and intriguing characters that I’ve come to expect from the author. Several new characters are introduced here, and they each fit perfectly into the tapestry of westward expansion being weaved while each displaying tenacity and faith in equal measure in the face of hardship and death. A new villain arises on the scene in this novel whoranks amongst the most frightening and malevolent ever to grace literature. Each plot line is carefully intertwined and masterfully connects all these various sojourners in a tale of love, loss, redemption, and hope. Fans of Louis L’Amour and Larry McMurtry would do well to discover this series of novels.